Horse Racing - Top Novices' Hurdle

Run at Aintree racecourse in Liverpool, England for horses aged four years or older over a distance of 3,319 metres (slightly more than two miles) during the Grand National meeting each April. The race was first run in 1976 but did not attain Grade One status until 2016. It was not staged in 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

1976 BEACON LIGHT A Turnell B Turnell
1977 IRISH RAMBLER J Crowley J Crowley
1978 PROUSTO J O'Neill A Jarvis
1979 RIMONDO J O'Neill T Carter
1980 JUGADOR R Davies D Kent
1981 BURNS B Smith F Walwyn
1982 BRIGHT OASIS A Webb K BAiley
1983 VERY PROMISING S M'shead M Rimell
1984 BROWNE'S G'ETTE D Browne M Dick'son
1985 SAILOR'S DANCE J Duggan F Winter
1986 I BIN ZAIDOON G McC'urt J Pitman
1987 CONVINCED P Sc'more M Pipe
1988 FARAWAY LAD S Sh'wood O Sh'wood
1989 YOUNG BENZ L Wyer P Easterby
1990 FIDWAY S S-Ec'les T T-Jones
1991 GRANVILLE AGAIN P Sc'more M Pipe
1992 CAROBEE R D'woody D Nic'son
1993 ROLL A DOLLAR P Holley D Elsworth
1994 JAZILAH G McC'urt R Akehurst
1995 SWEET MIGN'ETTE P Niven M Reveley
1996 TRAGIC HERO J Lower M Pipe
1997 MIDNIGHT LEGEND R Johnson D Nic'son
1998 FATALISTE T McCoy M Pipe
1999 JOE MAC C O'Dwyer C Roche
2000 PH'RDANTE FLYER R Johnson P Hobbs
2001 ILICO II A Maguire P Hobbs
2002 IN CONTRAST R Johnson P Hobbs
2003 LIMERICK BOY T Dobbin V Williams
2004 ROYAL SH'PEARE A Th'ton S Gollings
2005 MIGHTY MAN R Johnson H Daly
2006 STRAW BEAR T McCoy J Gifford
2007 BLYTHE KNIGHT T McCoy J Quinn
2008 PIERROT LUNAIRE R Walsh P Nicholls
2009 EL DANCER L Wadham D Elsworth
2010 GENERAL MILLER B G'aghty N H'derson
2011 TOPOLSKI D Jacob D Arbuthnot
2012 DARLAN T McCoy N H'derson
2013 MY TENT OR Y'URS T McCoy N H'derson
2014 JOSSES HILL B G'aghty N H'derson
2015 CYRUS DARIUS B Hughes M Jefferson
2016 BUVEUR D'AIR B Fehily N H'derson
2017 PINGSHOU R Power C Tizzard
2018 LALOR R Johnson K Woollacott
2019 FELIX DESJY J Kennedy G Elliott
2020 Not held - -
2021 BELFAST BANTER K Sexton P Fahey
2022 JONBON A Coleman N H'derson
2023 INTHEPOCKET R B'more H de B'head
2024 MYSTICAL POWER M Walsh W Mullins

Links to other Horse Racing
Jumps | Flat