Horse Racing - David Nicholson Mares' Hurdle

This race for female horses aged four years or over is staged each March over a distance of two-and-a-half miles (4,000 metres) at the Cheltenham Festival, the most important meeting in the British National Hunt calendar. It is named after a jockey who latterly became a trainer and was connected to several winners at the meeting. It was inaugurated as a Grade 2 event in 2008, attaining Grade 1 status from the 2015 running.

Winners since it became a Grade 1 contest:

2015 GLENS MELODY P Townend W Mullins
2016 VROUM VROUM MAG R Walsh W Mullins
2017 APPLE'S JADE B Cooper G Elliott
2018 BENIE DES DIEUX R Walsh W Mullins
2019 ROKSANA H Skelton D Skelton
2020 HONEYSUCKLE R Blackmore H de B'head
2021 BLACK TEARS J Kennedy D Foster
2022 MARIE'S ROCK N de B'ville N H'derson
2023 HONEYSUCKLE R Blackmore H de B'head
2024 LOSSIEMOUTH P Townend W Mullins

Links to other Horse Racing
Jumps | Flat