Horse Racing - Curragh Gold Cup

Run at The Curragh in County Kildare, Ireland over an extended one-and-a-quarter miles (2,100 metres), traditionally staged in May. The race is age restricted to horses four-years-old or over. 
 in 1962 as the Ballymoss Stakes, after a successful racehorse in the late 1950s, the first two runnings were held in Limerick. Intially the race was also open to three-year-olds. It became the Curragh Gold Cup in 1984 and the minimum age was raised to four in 1985.
It became a Group 1 event in 1999. The winners since it became a Group 1 contest have been:

1999 SHIVA K Fallon H Cecil
2000 MONTJEU M Kinane J Hammond
2001 FANTASTIC LIGHT F Dettori S bin Suroor
2002 REBELLINE D McDonogh K Pren'gast
2003 BLACK SAM BELLAMY M Kinane A O'Brien
2004 POWERS COURT J Spencer A O'Brien
2005 GREY SWALLOW P Smullen D Weld
2006 HURRICANE RUN K Fallon A Fabre
2007 NOTNOWCATO J Murtagh M Stoute
2008 DUKE OF M'LADE J Murtagh A O'Brien
2009 CASUAL CONQUEST P Smullen D Weld
2010 FAME AND GLORY J Murtagh A O'Brien
2011 SO YOU THINK R Moore A O'Brien
2012 SO YOU THINK J O'Brien A O'Brien
J Doyle R Charlton
J Doyle J Cecil
2015 AL KAZEEM J Doyle R Charlton
2016 FASCINATING ROCK P Smullen D Weld
2017 DECORATED KNIGHT A Atzeni R Charlton
2018 LANCASTER BOMBER S Heffernan A O'Brien
2019 MAGICAL R Moore A O'Brien
2020 MAGICAL W Lordan A O'Brien
2021 HELVIC DREAM C Keane N Meade
2022 ALENQUER T Marquand W Haggas
2023 LUXEMBOURG R Moore A O'Brien


Links to other Horse Racing
Classics Championship Flat | Other Group 1 | Jumps