Rugby - World Cup

The Rugby World Cup is now recognisedas the third largest sporting event in the world, after the Olympic Games and football World Cup.
It took the rugby authorities many decades to come to agreement on staging a global tournament, with the final impetus being given by Australia, New Zealand and France. The British and Irish unions were implacably opposed until finally enough support was mustered in 1985 to progress with the first tournament two years later.

 New Zealand
 2007  Paris   SOUTH AFRICA  England
 2015  London  NEW ZEALAND  Australia
 2019  Yokohama  SOUTH AFRICA  England

Links to other Rugby