Horse Racing - Prince of Wales's Stakes

Held on day two of the Royal meeting at Ascot racecourse in Berkshire, England, this was inaugurated in 1862, was not staged from 1940 to 1967 and only became a Group 1 contest in 2000. Since being elevated to its present status, this race over one mile and two furlongs (2000 metres) open to four-year-old horses has been won by:

2000 DUBAI MILLENNIUM J Bailey S bin Suroor
2001 FANTASTIC LIGHT F Dettori S bin Suroor
2002 GRANDERA F Dettori S bin Suroor
2003 NAYEF R Hills M Tregoning
2004 RAKTI P Rob'nson M Jarvis
*2005 AZAMOUR M Kinane J Oxx
2006 OUIJA BOARD O Peslier J Dunlop
2007 MANDURO S Pasquier A Fabre
2008 DUKE OF M'LADE J Murtagh A O'Brien
2009 VISION D'ETAT O Peslier E Libaud
2010 BYWORD M Guyon A Fabre
2011 REWILDING F Dettori M Al Zar'ni
2012 SO YOU THINK J O'Brien A O'Brien
J Doyle R Charlton
W Buick J Gosden
2015 FREE EAGLE P Smullen D Weld
2016 MY DREAM BOAT A Kirby C Cox
2017 HIGHLAND REEL R Moore A O'Brien
2018 POET'S WORD J Doyle M Stoute
2019 CRYSTAL OCEAN F Dettori M Stoute
2020 LORD NORTH J Doyle J Gosden
2021 LOVE R Moore A O'Brien
2022 STATE OF REST S Crosse J O'Brien
2023 MOSTAHDAF J Crowley J&T Gosden

 * Run at York

Links to other Horse Racing
Classics Championship Flat | Other Group 1 | Jumps