Horse Racing - Goodwood Cup

Run at Goodwood racecourse in Sussex, England over two miles (3,200 metres) on the opening day of the annual Glorious Goodwood meeting in late July/early August. It was inaugurated in 1808 as a three-mile event, and won on three separate occasions by Bucephalus. Its trophy, a silver cup, was awarded permanently to the horse's owner after the third victory. The replacement trophy, established in 1812, is a gold cup and shortly afterwards the race was cut to two miles and five furlongs. It became a Group 2 event in 1971, was relegated to Group 3 status in 1985 and was shortened by a furlong in 1990 before adopting its current distance in 1991. It regained Group 2 status in 1995 and, in 2017, attained its elite Group 1 status.  
The winners since it became a Group 1 contest have been:

2017 STRADIVARIUS A Atzeni J Gosden
2018 STRADIVARIUS A Atzeni J Gosden
2019 STRADIVARIUS F Dettori J Gosden
2020 STRADIVARIUS F Dettori J Gosden
2021 TRUESHAN H Doyle A King
2022 KYPRIOS R Moore A O'Brien
2023 QUICKTHORN T Marquand H Morrison


Links to other Horse Racing
Classics Championship Flat | Other Group 1 | Jumps