Horse Racing - Coronation Stakes

Staged each June during the Royal meeting at Ascot racecourse, Berkshire, England, this is open to three-year-old fillies and run over a mile (1,600 metres). It was inaugurated in 1840 to commemorate the coronation of Queen Victoria two years earlier. It was a Group 2 event until being promoted to Group 1 level in 1988. The winners since it became a Group 1 race have been:

1988 MAGIC OF LIFE P Eddery J Tree
1989 GOLDEN OPINION C As'musen A Fabre
1990 CHIMES OF FR'DOM S Cauthen H Cecil
1991 KOOYONGA W O'Connor M Kauntze
1992 MARLING W Sw'burn G Wragg 
1993 GOLD SPLASH G Mosse C Head
1994 KISSING COUSIN M Kinane H Cecil
1995 R'GEWOOD PEARL J Murtagh J Oxx
1996 SHAKE THE YOKE O Peslier E Lellouche
1997 REBECCA SHARP M Hills G Wragg
1998 EXCLUSIVE W Sw'burn M Stoute
1999 BALISADA M Roberts G Wragg
2000 CRIMPLENE P Robinson C Brittain
2001 BANKS HILL O Peslier A Fabre
2002 SOPHISTICAT M Kinane A O'Brien
2003 RUSSIAN RHYTHM K Fallon A O'Brien
2004 ATTRACTION K Darley M Johnston
2005 MAIDS CAUSEWAY M Hills B Hills
2006 NANNINA J Fortune J Gosden
2007 INDIAN INK R Hughes R Hannon
2008 LUSH LASHES K Manning J Bolger
2009 GHANAATI R Hills B Hills
2010 LILLIE LANGTRY J Murtagh A O'Brien
2011 IMMORTAL VERSE G Mosse R Collet
2012 FALLEN FOR YOU W Buick J Gosden
R Hughes R Hannon
R Moore C Brittain
2015 ERVEDYA C Soumillon J-C Rouget
2016 QEMAH G Benoiste J-C Rouget
2017 WINTER R Moore A O'Brien
2018 ALPHA CENTAURI C O'Don'hue J H'rington
2019 WATCH ME P-C Boudot F-H Gr'fard
2020 ALPINE STAR F Dettori J H'rington
2021 ALCOHOL FREE O Murphy A Balding
2022 INSPIRAL F Dettori J & T Gosden
2023 TAHIYRA C Hayes D Weld


Links to other Horse Racing
Classics Championship Flat | Group 1 | Jumps